Members – Board of Directors at LCA


The  Government  of  Lesotho  has  established  Lesotho  Communications  Authority  (LCA)  as  a  regulatory  body  for  the  Communications  sector.   The  Authority  is constituted  by  seven  Board  Members.   This  is  a  high  profile  statutory  body  that  needs  to  be  manned  by  persons  of  recognized  competencies  and  integrity.

Applications  are  hereby  invited  from  suitably  qualified  candidates  for  four  positions  of  Board  members  in  the  LCA  Board  of  Directors.



In  consultation  and  in  unison  with  the  Chairman  and  other  Board  Members,  ensure  the  transparent  and  fair  regulation  of  the  communications  sector  in  Lesotho.


Acting  in  accordance  with  the  provisions  of  the  Communications  Act  No.  4  of 2012  and  other  related  regulatory  instruments,  the  incumbents  shall,  inter alia,  perform  the  following  functions:

  • Direct the  LCA  in  the  general  implementation  of  the  Communications
  • Chart the  direction  which  the  LCA  should  follow  in  the  implementation  and
    enforcement  of  the  provisions  of  the  Act;
  • Critically  review  the  recommendations  of  the  Executive  Management  to      grant,  amend  or  revoke  licences  of  communications  and  related  services, whenever  necessary;
  • In consultation  with  the  relevant  stakeholders,  proffer  policy  advice  to  the
    Ministry  responsible  for  communications  and  other  stakeholders;
  • Critically review  submissions  from  the  Executive  Management  related  to the  development  of  new  or  amendments  to  existing  Rules;  and
  • Perform  any  other  duties  that  may,  from  time  to  time,  be  assigned  by  the Board  or  other  Authorities.



Applicants  should  have  knowledge,  qualifications  or  experience  in  one  or
more  of  the  following  areas:

  •   Economics;
  • Telecommunications/Electronic  Engineering;
  • Law;
  • Computer Science  or  Information  Technology;
  • Finance and  Accounting;
  • Broadcasting; or
  • Business Practice.



The  positions  are  open  to  Basotho  nationals  with  the  necessary  qualifications and  relevant  experience  but  who  do  not  have  any  direct  commercial  interest in  the  communications  sector.



These  are  non-executive  positions.   The  Board  sits  as  stipulated  in  the  Act, or  as  and  when  there  is  some  business  to  transact.

Board  members  receive  sitting  allowances.

Applications  are  to  reach  the  following  address  by  12Hrs00  on  the  6th  July 2018:

The  Principal  Secretary

Ministry  of  Communications,  Science  and  Technology

3rd  Floor,  Moposo  House,  Kingsway  Road

P. O. Box  36
Maseru  –  100.