Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020, UK


Application Deadline: 16.00 (GMT) on 18 December 2019

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for candidates from least developed and lower middle income Commonwealth countries, for full-time Master’s study on selected courses, jointly supported by UK universities.
Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID),
Commonwealth Shared Scholarships enable talented and motivated
individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable
development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to
study in the UK.

These scholarships are offered under six themes:
Science and technology for development

Strengthening health systems and capacity

Promoting global prosperity

Strengthening global peace, security and governance

Strengthening resilience and response to crises

Access, inclusion and opportunity

To apply for these scholarships, you must:
Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person

Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country

Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2020

By September 2020, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC typically does not fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study.Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country

Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

Eligible Commonwealth countries
The Gambia
Papua New Guinea
Sierra Leone
Solomon Islands
Sri Lanka
Scholarship Worth

Selection process
Each participating UK University will conduct its own recruitment
process to select a specified number of candidates to be awarded
Commonwealth Shared Scholarships. Universities must put forward their
selected candidates to the CSC in March 2020. The CSC will then confirm
that these candidates meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme.
Universities will inform candidates of their results by July 2020.
Applications will be considered according to the following selection criteria:
Academic merit of the candidate

Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

How to apply
You can apply to study one of the taught Master’s courses offered in
the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme. These scholarships do not
cover undergraduate courses, PhD study, or any pre-sessional English
language teaching, and are usually tenable for one year only.

View a full list of eligible courses.
You must also secure admission to your course in addition to applying for a Shared Scholarship. You
must check with your chosen university for their specific advice on
when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying.

View a full list of university contact details.
You must make your application using the CSC’s online application
system, in addition to any other application that you are required to
complete by your chosen university. The CSC will not accept any
applications that are not submitted via the online application system.

For More Information:
Visit the Official Webpage of the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020