2019 U.N. Correspondents Association Awards for Best Media Coverage of the United Nations & U.N. Agencies


Application Deadline: September 15th, 2019

The United Nations Correspondents Association (UNCA) invites media worldwide to submit entries for its 24th annual UNCA Awards for the best print, broadcast (TV & Radio) and online, web-based media coverage of the United Nations, U.N. agencies and field operations.

The UNCA awards are open to all journalists anywhere in the world.

The Awards are:

1. The Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize,
sponsored by the Alexander Bodini Foundation, for written media
(including online media). The prize is for print and online coverage of
the U.N. and U.N. agencies, named in honor of Elizabeth Neuffer, The
Boston Globe bureau chief at the U.N., who died while on an assignment
in Baghdad in 2003.

2. The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize,
sponsored by the United Nations Alliance of Civilizations, for
broadcast (TV & Radio) media. The prize is for broadcast coverage of
the U.N. and U.N. agencies, named in honor of Ricardo Ortega, formerly
the New York correspondent for Antena 3 TV of Spain, who died while on
an assignment in Haiti in 2004.

3. The Prince Albert II of Monaco and UNCA Global Prize for coverage of Climate Change. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV & Radio) for coverage of sustainable and equitable management of natural resources and the implementation of innovative and ethical solutions in three main categories: climate change, biodiversity, and water.

  • Coverage of the U.N. and U.N. agencies is specified in each
    category; the committee welcomes coverage of all issues particularly on the Sustainable Development Goals for 2030, peacekeeping operations and nonproliferation, including the elimination of nuclear, chemical and biological weapons.
  • Work in print, broadcast (TV & Radio) and online coverage must be published between September 2018 and August 2019.
  • The judges will look for entries with impact, insight and
    originality, and will consider the courage and investigative and
    reporting skills of the journalists. Special attention will be given to the originality of daily coverage and breaking news from U.N. Headquarters. Entries from the developing world media are particularly welcome.
  • Entries can be submitted in any of the official U.N. languages (English, French, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish, and Russian) however a written transcript in English or French is necessary to facilitate the judging process.
  • Each candidate can submit to no more than two (2) prize categories, with a maximum of three (3) stories in each. Joint entries are accepted.
  • Electronic files and web links uploaded to the online Entry Form are required.
  • Electronic entries are mandatory
  • All entries must be received by September 15th, 2019

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the 2019 U.N. Correspondents Association Awards