DIRAJ Media Awards 2018



Open now (15th July) to 1st October 2018

Recognizing Positive Stories from Africa and the Arab States on Disaster Risk Prevention, Reduction and Recovery

Organised by the UN office for Disaster Risk Reduction and Disaster Risk Reduction Network of Africa Journalists (DIRAJ)

The UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction in Africa, Arab States and Geneva are teaming up with the Disaster risk reduction network of Africa journalists (DIRAJ) based in Nairobi, Kenya to launch the first Africa Disaster Reporting Award that will be presented at the Regional Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction to be held in Tunis, Tunisia from 9-13 October 2018.

The Africa Disaster Risk Reporting Awards will honour innovative, ethical and insightful reporting on disaster reduction that will cover the theme of the 2018 International Day for Disaster Reduction. The 2018 theme aligns with the Target “c” of the Sendai Framework, the Global plan to reduce disaster losses by 2030 and aims at substantially reduce disaster economic losses in relation to GDPs.

The award will reward stories that explore underlying causes of disaster losses and their social impacts on communities and propose solutions to reduce the long-term socio-economic impacts of disasters on people and their assets.

Stories will need to be related to disaster economic losses and what can be done to reduce them in the future.

The Award will honour and inspire in-depth disaster reporting across all media platforms including digital platforms.

Why an award

  • To improve the quality of disaster risk reporting in Africa
  • To motivate more media organizations in the continent to prioritize disaster risk reporting effectively.
  • To celebrate and reward quality journalism in disaster risk reporting.
  • To highlight innovative best-practice approaches both in Policy and Practice towards disaster risk reduction and response programmes.
  • Enhance creativity and increase number of DRR stories by media professionals

Entries & Award Categories

Potential awardees will present direct entries on an on-line portal with a cover page containing a brief synopsis of their entry, the title and author’s name(s), along with a short biographical note including name and full contact details: email address, telephone number(s), postal address, town, country, and a scanned photocopy of the author’s identification card or passport sent as a jpeg or pdf.

The judges will have the final word on who is to be awarded for each of the categories outlined below:

  1. The best print DRR story
  2. The best Television DRR story
  3. The best radio DRR Story and
  4. The best online / New Media DRR story

Entry Requirements


  • The competition is open to all journalists from established media houses: private or public-sector media in Africa and the Arab States. Freelance journalists are also eligible.
  • To participate, submitted media entries should show a good example of policy, actions or activity that has contributed to reducing disaster economic costs.

Submission Format 

  • Entries must be original pieces written or broadcast in English or French only.
  • Articles / Stories must have been published or aired between June– September 2018.
  • A candidate can submit up to a maximum of three pieces under any of the stated categories.

Criteria for identification 

Identification of recipient of the awards will be through a mass public-driven, and interactive process and an independent panel of distinguished professionals from diverse backgrounds will be assembled to lead the process.

The Awards

  1. The award will be in the form of a trophy, a citation, and cash
  2. All the overall category winners will qualify to join a one year mentorship programme by DIRAJ and UNISDR in partnership with academic institutions that will be identified across the continent.

– The winners will be used by DIRAJ and UNISDR to promote DRR agenda in their respective countries or indeed at any level as long as they reflect reasonable influence.

– The winners will be qualified ambassadors of influence in their respective countries who shall undertake to become mentors for other journalists interested to master DRR reporting.

Award Day and Ceremony

  • The winners will be invited to the award ceremony that will be held on the International Day for Disaster Reduction 13th October 2018 – IDDR and receive a certificate.
  • DIRAJ & UNISDR shall be responsible for the organizational logistics on the award day
  • The venue of the awards is Tunis, Tunisia.

Closing date: 01 October 2018

Apply here!